top of page

Who We Are

Do you have an interest in anesthesia for patients with obesity, are you exploring research in this area and are you looking for more educational material and collaborative opportunities? You can have a voice that is becoming stronger every year as a member of ISPCOP!


ISPCOP is the International Society for the Perioperative Care of Patients with Obesity. Our mission is to facilitate progress in the perioperative care of and research regarding this special population. This is a young and dedicated learned society that you should consider as one of your professional homes.


Members also have access to the Federation of Anaesthesia Obesity Societies with representation from around the globe, and membership meeting benefits from each member society.


Checkout the combined Federation newsletter at:


ISPCOP offers you education and collaboration with like-minded colleagues at a very low cost; and students and residents join for FREE.

Mission Statement

The Mission of the International Society for the Perioperative Care of Patients with Obesity is to promote excellence in clinical management, education and research regarding the care of the morbidly obese patient during the perioperative period.

Our Leaders


Dr. Adrian Sultana

No Photo


Dr. Adrian Sultana MD FRCP (Glasg) FANZCA is a specialist anesthsiologist at a number of hospitals in Sydney, Australia. He graduated from the University of Malta in 1984, trained in General Medicine in the UK, and graduated FANZCA in 1993 after specialist training in Sydney and Melbourne, Australia.


Dr. Sultana has a long-term interest and experience in anaesthesia and perioperative management of bariatric surgical patients and is currently the President of the International Society for the Perioperative Care of Patients with Obesity.


Prior to this current appointment, Dr Sultana has been a member, board member and secretary at ISPCOP.


Dr. Anu Wadhwa
Immediate Past President

Dr. Anupama Wadhwa served as the President of “International Society of Perioperative Care of Patients with Obesity” from 2017-2021. She had served as the Vice President of Education, Secretary and President Elect, thus serving the society in various capacities from 2011. Dr. Wadhwa worked as a Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Louisville, University of California San Diego and now at University of Texas Southwestern, Dallas Texas. She also is the Director of Faculty Development and Advancement at University of Texas Southwestern. During her tenure as President, she actively collaborated with several international societies, namely ESPCOP, IFSO, ASMBS, Brazilian Society of Anesthesiologists, São Paulo Society of Anesthesiologists, Canadian Society of Anesthesia, and strengthened the ties of ISPCOP with these societies. During her tenure, the board members of ISPCOP published several scholarly articles, edited and published in Anesthesiology Clinics and authored several chapters in the Oxford Textbook of Anesthesia for Patients with Morbid Obesity. The Society gained much visibility at the IARS, ASA and ASMBS, with multiple presentations and review course lectures. 

No Photo


No Photo

Dr. Patrick Ziemann-Gimmel

Dr. Patrick Ziemann is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Central Florida. 

Olubukola Nafiu.jpeg

Dr. Olubukola Nafiu
VP Research

Dr. Olubukola Nafiu is a Pediatric Anesthesiologist at the Nationwide Children's Hospital in Columbus, OH. 


Dr. Tiffany Moon
VP Education (2020-2022)

Dr. Tiffany Moon graduated from medical school at the top of her class and currently is an Associate Professor of Anesthesiology. She is an oral board examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology, has published over 3 dozen original manuscripts, reviews, and book chapters, and speaks internationally on topics related to her research.

No Photo

Newsletter Editor

Schumann_Roman V2.jpg

Dr. Roman Schumann
Past President and Board Member (2015-2017)

Dr. Schumann is a Professor of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine and a Professor of Surgery (secondary) at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston, MA, USA. He is currently the Associate Chief for Research and Development in the Department of Anesthesiology at the VA Boston Healthcare System. During his career, his interests have concentrated in the areas of liver transplantation and the care of the patient with obesity.


Dr. Stephanie Jones
Past President, Board Member, and Past Treasurer (2013-2015)

Dr. Stephanie Jones has been appointed chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at Albany Medical College. She previously served at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston as associate professor and vice chair for education and faculty development. Her previous positions include associate professor of anesthesia at Harvard Medical School.

Naveen Eipe Profile Pic (1).jpg

Dr. Naveen Eipe
Ex-Officio Board Member


Dr. Luiz Falcao
Board Member (2017-2021)

Dr. Eipe is a Staff Anesthesiologist at The Ottawa Hospital and Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine at the University of Ottawa

Dr. Falcao is a Professor and Chief of Anesthesiology at Federal University of Sao Paulo, Brazil


Dr. Rainer Lenhardt
Board Member (2016-)


Dr. Vidya Raman
Board Member

Dr. Rainer Lenhardt is an Associate Professor; Clinical Director, Neuroscience-Anesthesia Intensive Care Unit
Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine.

Vidya T. Raman, MD, is Senior Executive Director of Faculty Development And Clinical Guidelines Management in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine at Nationwide Children's Hospital and a Professor of Anesthesiology at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. 


Dr. Richard Urman
Board Member (2018-2021)

Dr. Richard D. Urman, is a staff anesthesiologist at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA and Associate Professor of Anesthesia at Harvard Medical School. He currently serves as Associate Chair for Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, as well as Medical Director of Sedation for Interventional Medicine, Director, Center for Perioperative Research (C.P.R.), and Perioperative Medicine Fellowship Director. He is also the founder of the Incubator for Patient Safety and Outcomes (IPSO).


Susan Lentz

Sue Lentz serves as the Executive Director and virtual office of ISPCOP. She has over 25 years of experience managing medical societies. 

Founding Members

Founding Members

Professor Adrian Alvarez, MD, PhD
ISPCOP Founder President
World Congress of Anesthesiologists 2012, COC (Scientific Committee)
Department of Anesthesia
Italian Hospital, Buenos Aires, Argentina


Professor Jay B. Brodsky, MD
ISPCOP Founder Vice-President
Department of Anesthesia
Stanford University School of Medicine
Medical Director
Peri-operative Services
Stanford University Medical Center

California, USA

Stephanie B. Jones, MD
ISPCOP Treasurer
Associate Professor of Anesthesia
Harvard Medical School
Vice Chair for Education
Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Boston, MA, USA


President's Report 2021


Need more details? Contact us

We are here to assist. Contact us by phone or email.

Contact Us
bottom of page